Home About Us Work with Us Group Companies News Profile Contacts Us  
General Geology of Niger Delta

OPL 277 is an onland exploration block within the Niger Delta. Niger Delta  is situated in the Gulf of Guinea and is one of the most prolific hydrocarbon system in the world. The delta formed at the site of a rift triple junction related to the opening of the southern Atlantic starting in the Late Jurassic and continuing into the Cretaceous. The delta proper began developing in the Eocene, accumulating sediments that now are over 10 kilometers thick. The Niger Delta Province contains only one identified petroleum system, namely the Tertiary Niger Delta (Akata –Agbada) Petroleum System.

The onshore portion of the Niger Delta Province is delineated by the geology of southern Nigeria and southwestern Cameroon. The northern boundary is the Benin flank--an east-northeast trending hinge line south of the West Africa basement massif. The northeastern boundary is defined by outcrops of the Cretaceous on the Abakaliki High and further east-south-east by the Calabar flank--a hinge line bordering the adjacent Precambrian.

The Tertiary section of the Niger Delta is divided into three formations, representing prograding depositional facies that are distinguished mostly on the basis of sand-shale ratios.

1)The Akata Formation at the base of the delta is of marine origin and is composed of thick shale sequences (potential source rock), turbidite sand (potential reservoirs in deep water), and minor amounts of clay and silt. Beginning in the Paleocene and through the Recent, the Akata Formation formed during lowstands when terrestrial organic matter and clays were transported to deep water areas characterized by low energy conditions and oxygen deficiency. The formation underlies the entire delta, and is typically overpressured. Turbidity currents likely deposited deep sea fan sands within the upper Akata Formation during development of the delta.

2) Deposition of the overlying Agbada Formation, the major petroleum-bearing unit, began in the Eocene and continues into the. The formation consists of paralic siliciclastics over 3700 meters thick and represents the actual deltaic portion of the sequence. The clastics accumulated in delta-front, delta-topset, and fluvio-deltaic environments. In the lower Agbada Formation, shale and sandstone beds were deposited in equal proportions, however, the upper portion is mostly sand with only minor shale interbeds.

3) The Agbada Formation is overlain by the third formation, the Benin Formation, a continental latest Eocene to Recent deposit of alluvial and upper coastal plain sands that are up to 2000 m thick.

The tectonic framework of the continental margin along the West Coast of equatorial Africa is controlled by Cretaceous fracture zones expressed as trenches and ridges in the deep Atlantic. The fracture zone ridges subdivide the margin into individual basins, and, in Nigeria, form the boundary faults of the Cretaceous Benue-Abakaliki trough, which cuts far into the West African shield. The trough represents a failed arm of a rift triple junction associated with the opening of the South Atlantic. In this region, rifting started in the Late Jurassic and persisted into the Middle Cretaceous . In the region of the Niger Delta, rifting diminished altogether in the Late Cretaceous.

After rifting ceased, gravity tectonism became the primary deformational process. Shale mobility induced internal deformation and occurred in response to two processes. First, shale diapirs formed from loading of poorly compacted, over-pressured, prodelta and delta-slope clays (Akata Fm.) by the higher density delta-front sands (Agbada Fm.). Second, slope instability occurred due to a lack of lateral, basinward, support for the under-compacted delta-slope clays (Akata Fm. ). For any given depobelt, gravity tectonics were completed before deposition of the Benin Formation and are expressed in complex structures, including shale diapirs, roll-over anticlines, collapsed growth fault crests, back-to-back features, and steeply dipping, closely spaced flank faults. These faults mostly offset different parts of the Agbada Formation and flatten into detachment planes near the top of the Akata Formation.

Petroleum in the Niger Delta is produced from sandstone and unconsolidated sands predominantly in the Agbada Formation. Characteristics of the reservoirs in the Agbada Formation are controlled by depositional environment and by depth of burial. Known reservoir rocks are Eocene to Pliocene in age, and are often stacked, ranging in thickness from less than 15 meters to 10% having greater than 45 meters thickness

The primary source rock is the upper Akata Formation, the marine-shale facies of the delta, with possibly contribution from interbedded marine shale of the lowermost Agbada Formation. Oil is produced from sandstone facies within the Agbada Formation, however, turbidite sand in the upper Akata Formation is a potential target in deep water offshore and possibly beneath currently producing intervals onshore.

Most known traps in Niger Delta fields are structural although stratigraphic traps are not uncommon. The structural traps developed during synsedimentary deformation of the Agbada paralic sequence . A variety of structural trapping elements exists, including those associated with simple rollover structures, clay filled channels, structures with multiple growth faults, structures with antithetic faults, and collapsed crest structures.

The primary seal rock in the Niger Delta is the interbedded shale within the Agbada Formation. The shale provides three types of seals—clay smears along faults, interbedded sealing units against which reservoir sands are juxtaposed due to faulting, and vertical seals.

  Geology of OPL 280